The Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing 2017 Winner Announced

NewSouth staff

Alice Gorman has won the 2017 Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing with the essay ‘Trace fossils: The silence of Ediacara, the shadow of uranium’, first published in Griffith Review.
The $7000 winner’s prize was presented by Professor Ian Jacobs, President and Vice-Chancellor of UNSW Sydney. Science writer, artist and curator Margaret Wertheim also attended the ceremony last night hosted by UNSW Press and the Faculty of Science, UNSW at the Australian Museum. In recognition of her significant contribution to science communication, Wertheim was presented with the UNSW Scientia Medal at this special event.
Runners-up prizes of $1500 each were awarded to Jo Chandler for ‘Grave Barrier Reef’ and Elmo Keep for ‘The Pyramid at the end of the world’.
The UNSW Bragg Student Prize was also presented, which was won by Sam Jones, from Kedron State High School in Queensland, for his essay ‘It’s what’s on the inside that counts’. The runners up were Ebony Wallin, for her essay ‘The Very Hungry Caterpillars’, and Carole Ge, for ‘The fate of the Great Barrier Reef’. The Bragg Student Prize celebrates excellence in science writing by Australian high school students in years 7 to 10, and is supported by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund.
The Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing is an annual prize for the best short non-fiction piece on science written for a general audience. It is named in honour of Australia’s first Nobel laureates, William Henry Bragg and his son William Lawrence Bragg.
The winning entries are included in The Best Australian Science Writing 2017, edited by Michael Slezak.