The Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing 2016 Shortlist Announced

Jo Chandler



Congratulations to the shortlisted authors for the Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing 2016. 


James Bradley Slippery migrants

Susan Double Beautiful contrivances

Nicole Gill Every lizard counts

Alice Gorman Pluto and the human gaze

Ashley Hay The forest at the edge of time

Fiona McMillan Lucy’s lullaby: Song for the ages


Winners will be announced by Australian Chief Scientist Dr Alan Finkel at the Australian Museum on 10 November, an event hosted by UNSW Press and the Faculty of Science, UNSW. 

UNSW Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Jacobs will also announce the winner of the Bragg Student Prize, celebrating excellence in science writing by Australian high school students.

The Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing is an annual prize for the best short non-fiction piece on science written for a general audience. It is named in honour of Australia’s first Nobel laureates, William Henry Bragg and his son William Lawrence Bragg. 

The Bragg Prize winner receives a prize of $7000 and two runners up each receive a prize of $1500. The student prizes and school events are supported by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund. 

All the shortlisted entries are included in The Best Australian Science Writing 2016, NewSouth’s annual collection featuring the finest Australian science writing of the year. The book will be launched at the November 10 event.


Judges of the Bragg UNSW Press Prize 2016:

Professor Merlin Crossley

Dr Cathy Foley

Dr Graeme Pearman

Jo Chandler, editor, The Best Australian Science Writing 2016